Top 5 English Books Recommendations for Non-English Speakers

As you know, English is not my first language. I have been studying English since I was in elementary school until now. I just started reading English books in 2014 when I found access to buying English books in my own country. I’m in no way an expert in English. And just because I read English books doesn’t mean that I know and understand every word there is in the books I have read or will read. As you all know, I’m also still studying. But if you’d like to try to read English books, then do it! It’s a very good practice to improve your reading skills. More importantly, don’t hesitate and don’t be afraid. Trying to do something new, like reading English books, can never go wrong (except for your pocket :P)

  1. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

15749186.jpg

This was a very easy read for me. It was such a cute and fluffy read. The language was also very easy to understand. If you’re new to English books, try reading this first.

  1. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

17262384

In terms of language, this book was very easy to understand. Even easier than number 1, I think. The book is also very thin. But if you don’t like sad books, don’t read this, It’ll make you weep while reading it.

  1. Alienated by Melissa Landers

13574417.jpg

If you’re into sci-fi, I suggest you to read this book. Of course, there are some terms about space but it’s also not that hard to understand. The story is also interesting.

  1. The Selection by Kiera Cass

10507293.jpg

If you like stories about prince and princesses, then you’ll like this one. It was a very light read for me so you won’t have much problems getting into the book.

  1. Looking for Alaska by John Green

99561.jpg

This is John Green’s first book. It wasn’t hard for me to read and like this book. But if you’re a young reader, I don’t think you should read this book because there are adult contents in this book and this book also deals with problems like death.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 English Books Recommendations for Non-English Speakers

  1. I’m not a native English speaker as well and although I feel like I’m very well-spoke and fluent right now, I think I’d loooove A Monster Calls when I was younger and still trying to learn English. It’s perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

